Diary 4th Day of Clojure

Fourth day of Clojure today and I felt better about it yesterday but still not quite where I want to be (of course, it’s been 4 days).

What I have learned today is that due to my inexperience in Clojure, my code has very few concepts as I haven’t learned any of the complex ones yet.
Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing I’ll find out in my IPM tomorrow.

Today I converted my board from a list data structure to a vector one because it made it easier to make a move on a board if you select an index. I found out that a list is similar to Java’s LinkedList and a Vector is comparable to an ArrayList. With this I was better able to understand the differences.

The cost of the change to Vector was relatively low, however it highlighted that my tests were dependent on the list data structure. In Java/Ruby this I woud be dependent on the highest abstraction, some form of Collection class or class that implements Enumerable, sadly at this current moment in my clojure learning I’m not sure how best to approach this. Will try to find out.

Tomorrow I have my IPM, after that I hope to work more on my Tic Tac Toe and hopefully read some more Brave Clojure. I want to become proficient using this language ASAP.

Leave a Reply

