Deliver deliver deliver deliver deliver deliver.

At the end of the day as developers we are here to deliver, specifically delivering value. If we are not delivering value, our client, whomever that may be is receiving a negative ROI.
I got into the software industry through my passionate of writing code. Back then I didn’t write software, I wrote code for myself and would throw it out. Most of the time incomplete but it didn’t matter, I just want to write code. What I’ve learnt is that a software developer doesn’t exist to write code, we exist to deliver software. Code happens to be one of our many tools at our disposal.

Because I love code, I want my code to be clean, I want it to always make me feel like I did the best with the knowledge I had when I wrote it.

The balance always aim to achieve is to deliver high quality code and at the same time delivering high value. Although it’s hard to admit, they may come a time when code quality will take a hit in the interest of delivering value to the client. My aim is to improve everyday to minimise the chances of that happening.

Leave a Reply

