Estimation is not hard science….

Estimation is not hard science and that bothers me. At the moment it seems like complete guesswork to me. There’s no science to how to learn it but one way to learn it is through experience.
Perhaps it’s making mistakes again and again. Through having similar but not necessarily like to like previous experiences of developing a product or a feature can we make an estimation on how long a task will take.

The PERT tool is one interesting tool that I have incredibly useful and hope to talk in a future blog post.

So similar to many things in learning, there’s no shortcuts, only through guidance with my mentor and experience developers around me can I improve in this “mystical art”.

What I can say for certain, I’m looking forward to improving my estimations, with more experience and more guidence.

Leave a Reply

