The Journey begins

cropped-road-journey.jpg

On Monday I start my apprenticeship at 8thLight.

I first heard about 8thLight while mentoring at CodeBar. At the time I didn’t know but would find out later, that their staff frequently volunteer their time at various community events, something I myself also try to commit myself to.

One of the Resident Apprentices told me about the Apprenticeship program and how much he was learning and enjoying himself, I was immediately intrigued. The more we talked about what we considered what makes great software, I realised how much my values with 8thLight were aligned.

I began attending the 8thLight University, every Friday for roughly 8 weeks, pair programming with the apprentices and craftsmen. I particular enjoyed the workshops that were held, especially Daniel’s workshop on deep listening. Seeing how well the apprentice/mentor model worked in person, increase my conviction of wanting to become a Resident apprentice.

Now as I begin my journey as an apprentice, I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to work with smart, kind hearted people who genuinely care about my development as a software craftsmen.

Let the adventure begin!

“Nobody trips over mountains. It is the small pebble that causes you to stumble. Pass all the pebbles in your path and you will find you have crossed the mountain.”

Ced

Leave a Reply

